The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Return to Oakridge

Last year we took part in Stroud Goodwill evening with our respective card stalls, but there were no other Christmas fairs. I missed the Oakridge village hall event.
This year I'm delighted to say that it was back. Although there were fewer stalls than usual, and it wasn't heaving with customers, we both enjoyed the morning, and greeted the villagers and other stallholders as old friends. In terms of sales, I did quite well, sold quite a few of the Christmas card packs I'd bought in.

After packing up at 1pm, we took a scenic drive home, through the back roads, and made a foray into Waitrose. Back home,I had some cheese and crackers, then started tidying up my stock, because we've got visitors coming on Monday. This led to a full scale tidying of the sitting room and spare room. It was long overdue. Because the router is in such a crazy place I managed to break the internet whilst vacuuming, but I also got it going again, thank goodness. (The family whose kids I look after employ a cleaner. The other day the cleaner folded up a blanket neatly and placed it on top of the router, on the floor. They came downstairs the next morning to find the router actually melting. Yikes!)

Now it's all calm, candles are burning, classical music is playing, and I feel the tidying was totally worthwhile. (Must remember not to leave the candles unattended, or near a router). I've said No to helping GG shop or write Christmas cards tomorrow. It's the seventh day, and I must have a rest (we all know what happened on the right day, don't we? Any Hazel O'Connor's fans out there?) I'm going to a classical concert in Nailsworth with the usual crowd, and have said that I'll meet GG there tomorrow if she wants to go.That leaves the morning for me to lounge around reading novels, or whatever takes my fancy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.