The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wonky wall art

Approximately 17 years ago, I made some poetry inspired banners as wall decorations for a significant birthday party. After the event, they were used for a while at an event called Live Poets' Society, but mostly they've been in a wardrobe ever since. They were a complete pain to make, so when I found them again the other day I decided to try and breathe some life into them. This one I hung up at the Shambles indoor market, to cover a church hall notice board. A few people commented, but it was for decoration and glitter really.

The extract is from a slightly longer work called Parsnip Sunrise that I wrote in 1997 for a competition entry. Something worked, because the piece was included in an anthology, shortlisted for some prize or another, and I had to perform it at a draughty venue in Barnwood owned by Nuclear Electric!

Meanwhile, in 2020, CleanSteve and I are on the sofa watching a gig by Zoom, in aid of the Prince Albert pub in Rodborough, Stroud, which was featured on the recent TV programme, Saving Britain's pubs. Because of the TV programme, the pub now has a pizza oven and a refurbed kitchen, so they can open as long as everyone is from the same household or support bubble AND eating a pizza! But they cannot attend live music, which the Albert hosts with aplomb in non-CoVid times.

We both had another good, busy day at the market and wee glad to get home afterwards. I have taken a different selection of Christmas cards to our own pub, the Crown and Sceptre, which runs as a corner shop at present, while we are in tier 2. My next market will be in two weeks' time, the final one before Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.