After The Rain, Sleet, Hail Snow

Woke early, but went back to sleep.  Woke again and heard the rain battering against the window and thought that rugby might be cancelled.  Had to jump out of bed and downstairs to check my phone.  No messages, so assumed it was still on, so rushed back upstairs to get BB out of bed.  I quickly texted a friend about rugby as her husband  is a coach and she told me it was about to be cancelled.  So we all slowed down and relaxed and looked out at the incredible hail shower that was battering down.  BB was disappointed that it was called off.  My washing machine was heaving a sigh of relief that it wouldn’t have to deal with the muddy kit.  TT headed off to pick up some bread and treats from the bakery.
I decided to bake, but couldn’t decide what to make.  Ended up making rock buns and prepped some fruit for a cranberry and fruit cake which I will make tomorrow.  I also made some double chocolate muffins.
After the hideous weather first thing, it cleared and brightened up.  I headed out for a few things and it was lovely to be out in the sunshine.  It was raining by the time I got home, but cleared up again, so I went for a quick walk, bumping into a couple of friends on my way home.
TT cooked a lovely chicken curry for tea and then we three sat and watched Elf.  It’s ages since we three sat and watched something together.  TT and I enjoyed our first mince pies of the season, they were pricey, but delicious. We then watched the second part of the programme we watched last Saturday evening.  I dozed through it as I was too tired to read the subtitles, but I think I saw the key bits.
The river was full after the rain, sleet, hail and snow of the past couple of days.  This picture was taken from the Nungate Bridge, the extras are from the Victoria Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.