Musselburgh Archer

A nice bright day.  The  boys went to church  and I pottered then went to my yoga class.  I really enjoyed it.  I asked for some advice about my knee (the teacher is also a physio).  She is going to watch to see what I can and cannot do to see if it is worth me having an appointment with her.
BB had football this afternoon.  Not the game that was planned as that didn’t go ahead due to COVID.  Instead the coaches had organised a local friendly with a team in Musselburgh.  We dropped him off and went for a walk along and up the River Esk and back round by Inveresk and Lewisvale park.  We got back to watch the last twenty minutes of the match.  Apparently they had fought back from 5:1 down to 5:4. The chat was that they would have scored again if given another ten minutes!
Once home it was time to cook and then watch some Borgen.
This statue of an archer is on the bank of the River Esk.  The archer represents layers of local history including the Roman invasion in AD 80, the Battle of Pinky Cleugh in 1547, and the Musselburgh Silver Arrow, which dates back to 1603 and is claimed to be the oldest sporting trophy in the world.  Apparently there are arrows around the town.  I will have to look for them another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.