Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict (DS223)

Although I spent some enjoyable time in the Hide today, this old white barn was calling me.  So, eventually I jumped in the car and drove over to get some shots in the afternoon light.  I took the 28-300 lens, which is really the best lens I have for this sort of photography.  And I got some interesting shots.  But this is the one I like the best - the golden glow of the afternoon sun through the second window really appeals to me.  I did a version in mono, but I like this one better. 

I am posting two other shots, both mono, on Flickr, starting HERE - comments/critiques welcome.  This isn't my usual genre, so I am sure I could make improvements.

I watched to Governor Cuomo's Covid briefing today - he had Dr. Fauci on as his guest so I got two of my favorite people in one dose.  I find them both pillars of calm in a world that, at times, seems quite mad.  Dr, Fauci predicts that if things stay on the current trajectory and people continue to disregard containment measures, we will not see our worst until mid-January.  That is a disheartening thought, but also not surprising.  

Meanwhile, things in many parts of the US are reaching crisis conditions in hospitals.  The Navajo Nation in New Mexico cannot take any more patients - not for lack of beds, but for lack of nursing staff to care for the ill.  And the whole state of NM is at hospital capacity, so there is nowhere to send people.  And yet, I still see so many people acting as if this is someone else's problem.  It is heartbreaking to see people who seemingly have little or no regard for how their actions may be affecting others.  

So, please...be safe, wear a mask, listen to your public health officials, and be kind...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.