Comfort Food

It was definitely the kind of day, despite that chink in the greyness at first light, when what is needed is to cosy up with a coffee and a Soderberg bun or cake. I did the cosy sit on the couch with the other Merry Widow but managed to resist the temptation of eating anything on offer. Instead of getting the wonderful taste of bun as it slips over my tonsils, I had that self righteous feeling of having denied myself a huge number of unwanted calories.

But golly it was so cold and dreich today that I decided there was no way I was going to venture out again. Instead, by dint of standing on my kitchen steps, I found, at the very back of the cupboard, a tin of pumpkin purée which was almost past its use by date and begging to be used. I made a pumpkin cake which I will freeze for future use now I have extra freezer space.

The only fly in the ointment is that I still have half the tin of purée left and so if I don’t want to waste it I feel there might be another cake in the offing. The nice thing about baking is that the oven is on and I feel warm. I’m tired of feeling cold which is how I feel now sitting down writing this . My mind can’t compute how it will be on the patio on Christmas Day. I am waiting for the patio heater man to phone, but there are another 2 bottles of mulled wine on my shopping list.
Now where my hot water bottle..........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.