Now - THIS is an emergency.

I took a few shots, put the card into the Disputer and found… … … … … NUFFINK! 
A totally BLANK card.  I don't have a (9 gallon) clue how/why it happened, but there it is.
This is a bit of Ludisia discolor which, accidentally, got divorced from the main plant.  It has lived with its feet in water awaiting my taking a trip out for decent potting soil; since Ludisia is a Terrestrial Orchid, rather than epiphytic; though, having temporarily lost the word I discovered while finding it, that, apparently there's a degree of symbiosis of which I was unaware.  I'd better read it and see what the tree gets out of it.
"A symbiotic relationship exists between the tree and the epiphytic orchid in nature which means that there are only benefits to the relationship and there is no harm involved."

"Curiouser and curiouser." © A different Alice.
It told me how the Orchid benefits - BUT - I saw no mention of what's in it for the tree.  Up to now I've thought Symbiosis was a two-way street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.