Trench digging

Yep. As previously discussed, they are the archaeologists. After popping to the gym at lunchtime, I stopped to talk to one of them in order to ask him what they were looking for/finding. So far, they've found buildings from the railway that used to run into this area across the Water of Leith. We know about that from old maps. This trench shows some old walls, and he pointed out to me at the bottom of the trench the marks on the fresh earth, which he said could have been left by ploughing, when this area was still farmland. They are on the look out for old medieval buildings that predate the maps of the area, but haven't found any yet. In addition, they are going to excavate the area of the old Foundry next to the Biscuit Factory. That will bring them over closer to us, so the observations from the bedroom window might be good. They will be there for another week or so.

Other than that, I spent most of the day on zoom, quite a bit of it passively. It culminated from 6-8pm with a trustee meeting. I guess it's one way to spend the evening. I'm a bit knackered now, so I was very disconcerted to find I was two days behind with blip. Glad to have caught up now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.