NEWCASTLE'S CHRISTMAS WINDOWS

Neil was back at work this week after furlough/holiday but he had a day off today so we arranged to meet in Newcastle.  I thought that would be better than a country walk as the weather was foggy, damp and chilly.  I also wanted to check out " Newcastle's Christmas Windows ".   Newcastle Council have taken over some windows of empty shops around town and used then to display artwork from local schoolchildren. artists, and students. There are 15 windows to look out for.  I downloaded the list and Neil and I made our way around town to find them all.  You can see some of them in my main blip and more in my Extra.

Musical link DECEMBER SONG - by George Michael

We also checked out Fenwicks Christmas Window.  Fenwicks is a large department store and every Christmas they have a wonderful Christmas window full of moving figures and with scenes from books, films etc.  This year its the Wind In The Willows.  I've seen every Fenwicks window since they started in 1971. So glad that Covid didn't prevent them keeping up with the tradition.  I have added a couple of shots to my Extras.

Newcastle was busy - especially Northumberland Street  - but you could keep your distance from other shoppers. ( just about ).  We spotted a new clothes shop and decided to take a look.  I haven't been in a clothes shop since March.  It was rather overwhelming... I didn't know where to start.  I did try on a few pairs of shoes but in the end got nothing.  Neil got 2 pairs of thermal leggings and a thick pair of socks to wear when he's running.  All 3 only cost £12.  Bargain. Around 4pm Neil went on his way home ( He walked to town and walked back - about 2.5 miles each way) and I went to the Post Office.  I had items to post which were going abroad.  I imagined there would be a huge queue but I was surprised to see only one person in front of me.

Next I got some food shopping in Waitrose and then headed home.

It was great to go somewhere different for a change - and also to meet up with Neil as its a while since I've seen him.  ( And I've missed my hugs )


Steps today - 12,620

CORONA CLASSIC - Test Card Classics

I watched a TV programme this evening called " The Sound Of TV " which dealt with music from TV advertisements, intros to News programmes, interludes etc ... and the music which accompanied the Test Card.  It was an interesting show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.