The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Busker Dec with two ponies and a dog

Not an everyday sight in Stroud, more reminiscent of the Republic of Ireland where I grew up in the 1960s. There are traveller communities around Cheltenham, but ponies are rarely seen in Stroud High Street.

I only had 80p in cash, so I could not buy a holly wreath from Dec. Busking is allowed in Stroud, so he would not hwv been moved on. Initially he was standing next to an anti-vaxxer who had set up his own stall. I was confused and asked Dec if they were together. He said no, and asked the other guy to move, which he did, grudgingly, to outside Costa coffee. He was moved on from there and ended up outside Greggs bakery. There are quite a few anti-vaxxers in Stroud, and the number of cases of CoVid in Stroud District is rising since we came out of National Lockdown nine days ago. It's not over yet.

Friend J and I had met for breakfast in a favourite cafe, a thing we hadn't done for months. She lives alone, so I am allowed to meet her. I had a goat's cheese and ham omelette and several hot drinks. Visited a charity shop where I bought a board game, though I don't know when I'll ever be allowed to play it. Maybe next summer...

My plans for today were thrown out of whack by the non arrival of some cards and gift wrap, so I was unable to take the bus over to Prinknash Abbey and meet Dave there to hand over various goods. A long text discussion has resulted in him agreeing to meet me in Stroud after work on Monday. I will help him choose a present for his granddaughter in the superb toy shop which I had never visited before. To be fair, it's been closed for much of this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.