Outdoor Christmas Lights

Today I was expecting to be collected from the station to go to Sleaford with The Parents for my Dad to go to his hearing aid appointment. But he wasn't there, so I just made my way to theirs as normal. As I arrived the phone rang  - a lady from the council confirming a visit from an electrician - I assumed it must be about the main room light which hadn't worked for ages, but no! The new cooker was apparently tripping the fuse-box. As the cooker was out of action it was treated as an emergency.

So I was to stay there with my Mum and deal with the electrician. For the sake of social distancing I was to open the door for the workman then take my Mum and the dog and sit in the bedroom! Oh...right... 

I went into the kitchen and there was my dad cooking sausages on the cooker that was apparently out of use! It was working just fine in a regular socket, so not an "emergency" at all!! It is not a full-size cooker, just a small bedsit-type one, big enough for the two of them. The old cooker was fully gas so I guess the proper cooker socket has given up through not being used for years.

So now I was panicking that the guy would come and after being annoyed by the length of time it would take me to bribe and beg Mother and Dog to go into the bedroom he'd realise we had lured him there on false pretences! 

I was so glad that my Dad came home before he arrived. I had unplugged the cooker and made it look like it had not been recently used anyway. They were still waiting for the man when Grace collected me to go home!

Tonight Bri and I had a walk into town to photograph the town's decorations to fit my topic of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.