Not mince pies

Instead of our usual 2 hour end of the year social get-together (like the one last year reported at https://hazelhall.org/2019/12/22/centre-for-social-informatics-all-centre-meeting-december-2019/), members of my research group gathered online for 30 minutes of social fun this afternoon. Everyone was instructed to bring their own seasonal refreshments. I don't like mince pies, so Mr hazelh made some jam and lemon tarts for me instead (blipped).

There are currently 22 members of my research group: 11 members of staff; 9 research students; 1 visiting professor (from Canada); and 1 emeritus professor. There are also 5 people who were based with us earlier in the year, but have now moved on: 3 PhD students now graduated; a postdoc who was recruited to a new project at another university in the spring; and an Associate Professor who retired in September. Of these 27 people, 21 people made it today - not a bad turn-out :-)

My former colleague, and now fellow blipper, LauraMuir was brilliant at chairing the session. Each person had a minute or so to tell everyone else their highlights of the year (work and/or personal) and what they were looking forward to in 2021. I identified my highlights as my three PhD completions (Leo, Lyndsey and Iris) and my fabulous summer holiday, and I said that I was looking forward to returning to my (very) own office on campus again some time next year. I very much enjoyed hearing the contributions of everyone else, and hope to write a blog about this fun session in the next couple of days.

It's my last official day of work for 2020 tomorrow!

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.