Welcome visitor

Freezing rain overnight and through the morning meant a backyard blip...taken through the kitchen window. It was a hazy morning with nothing but clouds, so the light left a lot to be desired, but I was delighted to see this little red-breasted nuthatch. There hadn't been one at our feeder for a couple of months or so. Everywhere I go, I see the white-breasted nuthatches. They are very photogenic, and I might even call them blipaholics because they constantly show up in front of my lens. They will even land on my outstretched hand, as if saying, "Blip me. Please blip me. Oh, and while you're at it, please give me some of those sunflower seeds you carry in your pocket." The red-breasted nuthatch is supposedly a friendly little bird, but in my neighborhood they are few and far between. You can imagine my excitement when this one appeared at the feeder today.

Another highlight of the day: I had to go to the license bureau to renew my driver's license because my birthday was on Wednesday. Actually almost forgot to do it, but we needed to get the annual plates for our cars, and Bob suggested I check the expiration date on my license. You guessed it. It expired two days ago. Fortunately I was within the grace period. The best part was I got rid of the old one with the horrible photo ID and the new one actually has a decent picture. What a novelty! So I can chalk this up as a day with two serendipitous highlights! I'll settle for that.

I'm not completely happy with the framing on this picture, but there's no time left to fiddle with it. We're going out for pasta and a glass of wine. Gotta run, Blippers. See you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.