Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Dial Soap

These days we are sometimes looking for odd topics of conversation!   So... no Xmas.. no bones., politics or covid.  When Herb went to the pharmacy yesterday to pick up some supplies, including soap, he came home with the “old yellow”Dial as all the white and lovely scented ones were sold.   This bar is special.   I have heard for too many years how it put him thru college.  His dad was a pharmacist in Chicago and went to work as a traveling salesman for Armour and Co... (who had some meat products from the Chicago stockyards in the 18O0s)as well as drugs ( thyroid, etc).  later on.   Originally there was only this yellow bar of antibacterial soap.  1949 .    Looking up the website dialsoap.com, I see there are lots and lots of different products and scents...and fun old ads... it was bought out by another co.  The antibacterial agent was undoubtedly not environmentally friendly so it was changed and I think it smells different.  We have never taken a trip without a bar in our pack.  Sometimes a white one! 
I was told late this afternoon by the surgery center to take a shower in the AM with some fancy antibacterial soap no one ever mentioned to me.   I’ll use Dial.   The procedure is at 1:00.  H is not allowed in the building.  I will be very grateful to be done and home with a straight metallic  wrist and a broken shoulder tomorrow.
I’m sure he’d have lots to say about dial soap but this is all I can write.  the elephant dish is from Africa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.