carliewired

By carliewired

In Aid of Donkeys

Little watercolors
put to good use at Christmas
and through the whole year

~ carliewired

The second Christmas card I received was my own card from a friend. She had bought a set of cards made from my paintings that I'd donated to the Turtle Valley Donkey Refuge. It is a wonderful organization that takes in and supports donkeys that need a retirement home. Most are elderly. Some have been neglected. Some have medical issues. All are cared for in the most loving way. 

Last year, the Donkey Refuge asked me if I would paint their donkeys in Christmas scenes so they could print Christmas cards to sell. The Director sent me some photos of their donkeys. I painted them in watercolor and  added in Santa hats, stars and other props. It made for a fun project for me. The Donkey Refuge chose four paintings and had them printed on cards.

This year, the Director asked again if I would paint their donkeys. I haven't been able to paint this year. I just can't focus or even pick up a brush. I was sorry to disappoint them, but they re-issued the cards from last year and also made one of my paintings into the month of December for their 2021 calendar. They were so kind that they sent me a calendar and a set of cards. 

I hope that I can do better for the donkeys in 2021.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.