JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Wild swimming on the moors

I'd arranged to meet Jack, Marianna, Frieda, Ruth, Josh, Eben and Luca for one of our favourite local walks.  Just outside Sheffield, on the NE Derbyshire moors, there's a long-disused small reservoir which people use for wild swimming. I've swum in it too, but only on a hot summer's day :-)

Anyway, it all went a bit pear-shaped today. Marianna, Frieda and I all arrived at the appointed time. Jack has a cold and wisely stayed at home. Ruth et al set off late, got lost on the way and even when they found the right place, took the wrong path. But there's rarely a consistent mobile signal in this particular spot, so we weren't able to check in with each other.

Long story short: Marianna, Frieda and I did the walk to the pool, and I looked after F while Marianna had a quick swim (in her wetsuit, waterproof gloves and warm hat).  There were two other well-equipped women swimming too - see picture. For Frieda's somewhat surprised reaction - and I'm with her, on that! - see the extra. 

As we walked back towards the cars, we met Ruth & family who had finally put two and two together about where they were meant to be. By then I was cold and hungry, so after a quick chat I headed for home. Marianna - a stalwart if ever there was one - turned back towards the pool with Frieda and the others.  The sun was shining, at least; it did look lovely, despite the chill wind.

At home I got on with Christmas preparations. And switched on the BBC radio news. And became glued to it.  I think that Johnson has done the right thing by bringing in more rigorous restrictions. But as at every single previous stage in this whole calamity, he has dithered and delayed and wasted valuable time. I don't know what it will mean for our Christmas period... like everyone else, we will have to work out what we can.  Marianna, Frieda and Jack are booked to fly from Luton to Athens on Monday. So far, I see that holiday travel abroad is banned for those in Tier 4. We are in Tier 3, but Luton, of course, is in Tier 4. If this decision had been made even a few days earlier, it would have been easier for everyone - all over the country - to manage it all, both practically and emotionally. Aargh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.