Seafood Delights

I had to meet the decorator at our Ongar property this morning. I managed to ease myself into the car, even though I was in quite a bit of pain after my ditch tumble last evening.

I passed Smith's restaurant. MrQ and I seldom eat out but when we do we like to take the family here as we all love fish. Smith's had a seafood stall in their carpark. It was groaning with all the fishy delights that MrQ loves. I bought him half a dozen oysters, crab bisque and some gorgeous Guernsey skate wings. They were labelled skate, rather than ray, as in supermarkets. I cooked these this evening in black butter with capers.

I loved the friendly Essex/East End service and the banter between the people serving and the customers. It's highly likely that I will go back before Christmas to get more bisque or lobster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.