An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bubbles...

Burst!

So, the rules have changed again.

The news of the new variant of Covid that is 70% more infectious is very worrying.  Difficult decisions for the governments in our four nations and catastrophic outcomes for the retail and hospitality sector, and of course upset for those who had made plans to see family and friends on the allowed days.  But what's the alternative?  I'm even beginning to feel a bit sorry for Boris don't worry, it won't last ;-)

The change in Scotland means we won't see our friends T&V on the 27th.  Whilst disappointed, all it really means is our evening together will be re-arranged for another date.  That was already the case for all our usual family and friends get togethers over the festive period and Ele and I FaceTimed today to talk about plans for our Christmas celebration.  It may happen in February or it may happen in June.  All being well, our plans are not cancelled, only postponed.

I hate to say it, but I think we have enough information about how this virus behaves when we lockdown and how it behaves when we reduce restrictions, and all the signs are telling us we need to have some form of restrictions in place until the vaccination programme has been administered to the majority of the population, otherwise we are going to continue down this path of getting on top of it, then watching it run rife again.

In other news, Esme's blankie survived steaming and blocking - see extra (I watched a YouTube tutorial and decided to steam it rather than wash it) and is now ready to be folded into the gift box I ordered...when it arrives.  I think it's lost in the mountains of postal back log so not holding my breath it will arrive in time.

Also I found out when speaking to Eleanor today that one of the gifts she's bought Esme is a pram for her favourite doll baby.  I have Granny Squares left over from Esme's blanket and when I counted them today I have enough to crochet together to make a small blanket for her pram, so her baby will have its own blankie :-))  I will do that tomorrow since I have extra time now that I am not meal planning for the 27th.  Every cloud....  :-)

Also delighted with the winner of Strictly Come Dancing.  I won't mention who won incase I spoil it for anyone.  

6 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.