A time for everything

By turnx3

Nativity: Fourth Sunday in Advent

We started our day, watching our streamed church service, marking the fourth Sunday in Advent. It was another grey overcast morning, and the forecast suggested the same for the rest of the day, so we decided to head out then for our exercise, going walking at Rowe Woods. When we got back we enjoyed some pâté cheese and baguette, as a very late lunch.Then Laura and I just got started on a jigsaw puzzle, but we didn’t get any further than sorting out the straight edge pieces, then I needed to get started on things for our roast beef dinner. While I was busy in the kitchen, Laura started playing carols on the piano, and when I had the odd five or ten minutes, I would go and sing with her - it’s always one of my favorite activities over Christmas singing or playing Christmas music together. In the evening, after dinner, we watched a live streamed concert by Straight No Chaser, a professional American a cappella group that originated in 1996 at Indiana University. In 2007, a 1998 video of "The 12 Days of Christmas", went viral with over 8 million views and subsequently led to a five-album record deal with Atlantic Records in 2008. The YouTube video has been viewed over 24 million times. I had never actually seen them before, but I had heard of them, partly through one of the ladies in my knitting group, who is a great fan, and often posts about them on Facebook. Laura was familiar with them, so it seemed it would be of interest to all of us, and it certainly was a fun concert.
I’ve blipped my Precious Moments nativity set a couple of times, so here is my other nativity set, in Olive wood, which I bought in Liverpool Cathedral, about five years ago now, when we went with Janet and John to their service of Lessons and Carols.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.