An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Elf Portrait...

When covid is running riot and the country is shutting down, and Boris' oven-ready Brexit is still in the freezer, and Europe and the rest of the world are treating us like lepers and closing their borders (wee aside - Nigel Farage actually had the brass neck to complain about France taking control of its borders!!!  What a tit!) and when my favourite Stollen that I only get to enjoy once a year (and  put on my Tesco order weeks ago for delivery tomorrow) is no longer available....then the only thing, THE ONLY THING to make one's day, and life in general, better, is a FaceTime call from Elf! :-)))

Oh how I miss her on Blip but it was lovely to have her all to myself for an hour where we moaned about all things worth moaning about, talked about how, when all is said and done, lucky we are, and laughed, because that's all you can do really, at the absolute shit storm we are all living through at the moment.  

I was delighted to hear that both her and The Lovely S are in good health and I even had a brief chat with The Lovely S when he ventured in from his workshop where he is busy making the most exquisite things from wood.  And that includes the most amazing wooden Christmas tree that Elf is pictured in front off.  Wish I had taken a pic that did it justice.  It truly is amazing.  Harrods would sell them for hundreds of pounds if they got their hands on them.

When I said goodbye to Elf I was much lighter of mood and feeling festive and I got Esme's doll's pram blanket finished in no time (extra.)  Typically I prefer the doll's blanket to hers as the square are solid colours, whereas the squares on her blanket have white in them, so they're not quite so bold.  Useful lesson learned.  Next project is a blanket for the Gin Palace but it might be after Christmas before I get started on that.

Tesco delivery coming tomorrow so have updated that order and other than D collecting the order from the butcher on Christmas Eve, I think I am done with food shopping for now.  Actually shopping in general.  Woo hoo :D  

PS Thirty-seven years ago tonight David asked me out for the first time at the end of our 6th year school Christmas Dance.  I asked him if he'd remembered this was the anniversary of that momentous occasion.  His mouth said yes.  His face said eh?  Hahahahahahaha!  

4 sleeps!


Yesterday's devotion :-)


Ha!  And look who my blip was six years ago today! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.