The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A Christmas walk

It's been a very mellow Christmas, with stocking-unpacking and eating chocolate and Satsumas in bed, followed by breakfast and a walk in the cemetery/nature reserve. Plenty of other walkers about. This rotten tree trunk caught my attention, and the bench on the path below. Somehow it seemed a metaphor for the kind of government we've had this year,; that, and the social distancing.

Afterwards I sat at home in the sun and listened to a radio play on catch-up, but before long I had to lie down on the sofa, and Bomble the cat lay down on top of me in the sunshine, and suddenly the play appeared to be almost finished...

We had some lunch, and presents (books, glorious books) and I watched some TV and started getting the Christmas (evening) dinner ready. We finally finished eating and clearing up at about 9pm, after our chicken-with-all-the-turkey-trimmings meal. We haven't eaten the special.Christmas ice cream yet! A few phone calls, too, but the big family Zoom is tomorrow morning UK time, because two of my siblings and their families live in Nelson, NZ, where it will be the evening of Boxing Day already.

I do hope Storm Bella won't hit this area, but am already hearing about people in Bedfordshire being asked to evacuate their homes tonight, for fear of flooding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.