The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Three Seafood Santas

I hadn't planned to go town today, but someone who is very busy running a shop needed wrapping paper and tags, so I took some down to her, and went on to shop. Friend J wanted to meet up, I haven't seen her for weeks, but she was running late.

I had a hot chocolate while I waited at my new favourite, the artisanal bakery in the Five Valleys centre. None of their cakes are gf yet, but their drinks are good. Unfortunately if you sit in, or just outside, you get a waft from the fish counter, but this complaint seems trite because:
From Saturday it'll probably be takeaway drinks only (tier 3)
We are lucky to have a fishmonger in our town again. I hear it's a good 'un.

J wanted to find a Christmas jumper in a charity shop, but had left it too late. We couldn't find any. I caught the bus home because I was weighed down with shopping and wrapping paper, and found that the film I wanted to watch had started, and so had the radio drama. I got on with making the Christmas ice cream. It's my paternal grandmother's recipe, and we call it choffee flavour.(chocolate and coffee). I also managed to ice the Christmas cake, very badly. Steve had marzipanned it earlier. A friend dropped around with a present, but wouldn't stay for a cup of tea in the garden. She has just lost her sister, who had dementia, and she is working flat out on the vaccination programme, and is exhausted. I was sorry to have nothing for her, but I did make story-cards this year for friends, and she had had one of those.

Now at last I have sat down to watch Meet me at St Louis on catch-up, and to have lunch at nearly 5pm. I still have to label presents, put fresh bedlinen on, and cook supper. All of these can wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.