The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Christmas reading

I didn't blip yesterday because I lay around watching TV and eating. The weather was dreich, with Storm Brenda whipping up later, and I forgot to take photos.

This morning I woke up to a bright sunny morning, but I was exceptionally tired. I suggested to CleanSteve that we go for a walk, but then started worrying about a mysterious wheeze I had developed the night before. I was not actually wheezing today, but my thought turned to new variant whathisname. In the end I remembered that I'd had a cheap and cheerful scented candle burning for the previous two nights. I googled 'scented candles and wheezing' and found that yes, there's a link, the cheap candles are made of paraffin, and can cause respiratory difficulties. I decided to bin the candle and stop worrying (I am not a complete hypochondriac, but had pneumonia 11 years ago and am not keen to have it again).

Steve went off for a drive/walk alone because I was still tired. I got up for an hour or so and continued my jigsaw in the bright sunlight. There's only sky, bushes and twiggy branches left to do. Then I went back to bed, read a bit of The Thursday Murder Club, and fell asleep again. It's the first of my Christmas books, most of which I chose for myself. I want to read them all at once!

When I woke, Steve was bringing me tea and Christmas cake. I made it myself, so it's gf. Listened to a radio show, then found an Ab Fab Christmas episode to watch on TV. Then some Victoria Wood, then Steve and I watched Victoria Wood, the Secret List together over supper. Now I'm watching Black Narcissus, the new version, part one.

I was going to try and eat more normal food today, but there's still a lot of chocolate money, Spanish Turron (hard almond nougat) Florentines and home made ice cream lying around. Once a year and all that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.