A sad goodbye

My Minkelina was euthanized this afternoon after thirteen and half years of what I think was a good life.  It turned out that she had severe hepatitis and her liver had completely shut down.  It was the right decision.  The vet was very gentle with her and made sure I understood that I had no other options.

She was under the bed when the vet arrived, but he was able to get her out by the scruff of her neck.  I held her while he gave her the sedative shot and she didn't object to being in my arms.  She was so light.  I left the room when it was time for her to go, but Doug served as a go-between during the process.  The vet took her away in a paper shopping bag, which was very hard to see.

She did perk up a bit last night and I was able to coax her onto my lap.  We had about half an hour of lap time before she needed to get down and it was so wonderful that I could give her that last bit of loving care.

Thanks you all for your kind and caring comments about her.  Knowing that you loved her too is very heartening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.