Ferns for home

I can't remember a Boxing Day where I've needed 3 layers of merino, gloves, beanie, and longs instead of shorts. The temperature plummeted this afternoon and hail coated the lawn. At a guess the snow level is at about 100m. Very wintry.

Before the weather packed up I got my walk in. Even then I needed a beanie and gloves. I used the surrounding roads because it's too wet and slippery on tracks for me to manage safely on my own.

After breakfast one of my hosts took me into bush on private land across the road from the village. The owner is friends of my hosts and my friends, and they all thought that he wouldn't mind 6 baby ferns heading home with me.

We timed it just right to find and collect them. The rain pelted down as we potted them in the garage.

After a couple of big days I'm tired today. It's been a perfect kind of day to take it easy with lots of brain breaks.

I rounded out the day at my friend's place. Turkey and ham toasted sandwiches were a perfect dinner on a cold wet evening. Yesterday we couldn't fit in dessert so had it tonight.

If my cottage was available tomorrow I'd stay another night. But it isn't so I'll drive home, taking the quiet inland route in stages.

Today's gratitude: For kindness and beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.