Boxing Day - The Calm Before The Storm

I LOVE Boxing Day!  I always have! If I had to choose and could only have one, I’d always choose Boxing Day over Christmas Day. I love the relaxed quietness, good food (usually leftovers!), and the calm after the frenetic busyness of Christmas. Sometimes, like today, it’s mostly a PJ day!

What a difference the weather was today compared to yesterday!  The cold, crisp, sunny weather of yesterday gave way to a damp, warm day. Not only that, but Storm Bella was on its way!  I went for a walk around the village and the park in the early afternoon before the storm hit. We were expecting rain and strong winds with gusts around 80mph. It drizzled a bit while I was out.

By the time I got home I was overly hot, so I decided to enjoy my afternoon tea outside. The shortbread was a gift from a friend - homemade. I stayed out just long enough to cool down. It wasn’t long before the storm came. I spent the rest of the afternoon working on one of the new puzzles I got for Christmas. There were leftovers, much of it turned into Bubble and Squeak! And I finally watched the Call The Midwife Christmas special. After watching all 9 series during and after the first lockdown, I was happy to watch another episode and I look forward to a new series in 2021.

Boxing Day - a perfect day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.