Christmas For One!

What a beautiful Christmas morning! The deep frost that had been predicted didn’t really happen but it was cold and I enjoyed the sunrise at the lake, with a flask of coffee to keep me warm. The swan family came to say hello. I was there for about an hour and was so happy with the blue sky and sunshine.

Once home I didn’t want to stay inside so I enjoyed a glass of bubbly in the sunshine in my garden. Cold, but fine in the sun. What a treat! In December!

I finally went in and joined in with our Christmas morning service at church, via Zoom. The middle candle of the church advent wreath was lit for Christmas Day and I lit mine at home at the same time.

Brunch was next on the day’s plan - salmon, egg, avocado, more bubbly, followed up with coffee and toast. My friend I met for a walk yesterday had just made lemon curd that morning and gave me some so I had that on my toast. Very yummy!

I chatted with a few friends during the day and spent the longest time with my friends in Sweden, doing a virtual present opening via FaceTime. I made sure I watched the Queen’s speech at 3pm and finally made my dinner in the early evening. I cooked a small turkey thigh joint and did all the fixings of a traditional Christmas dinner.

After dinner I did a FaceTime with some of my family and watched my great-nieces open their presents from me. I had a couple more conversations with friends, and finally it was time for bed.

What a fab day! I know this Christmas has been different and difficult for so many in the U.K. (and beyond), as we’ve had to keep our celebrations small. For many of us, there has been no mixing with other households. But for me, while I missed seeing my family, I didn’t mind being alone and made the most of it. I’m looking forward to next year when hopefully we can be back together again. In the meantime - stay safe, everyone! Merry Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.