Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Work

8th Dec
Second day at work today. Mr K very kindly offered to drive me down otherwise I’d have had to set off walking at 5.20am!! He needs the car to take Miss L to school.
It was a bit better than yesterday. You just grab a trolley and a scanner the minute you walk in and get going.
6am until 12pm today and I had a half hour break. Whoop whoop!
By about 10am I was knackered and thinking how much I didn’t want to be there but half an hour in the canteen with free tea, toast, peanut butter, fruit and blackcurrant squash and I was all good!
I can’t eat breakfast when I get up at 5.30am and I only drink a bit of the tea I make so I’m proper flagging by 10am (fifteen minutes after I was expecting to have finished. Just saying!!) But free tea and toast helps.
I made a point of being extra smiley and friendly with the people who’d been grumpy on Sunday. Some were nicer. Some were not!!
And for those interested in the mechanics of your Tesco order this is how the scanner gets the picker (me!) to your items.
25R 11 B 6: Aisle 25, right hand side, eleventh section, second shelf up, sixth item along.
And the next one is in the same section but third along on the fifth shelf.
This is all well and good until the item has been put in the wrong place or your brain overrides the instructions, grabs the wrong item and keeps scanning despite the hideous incorrect answer on a quiz show bleep which tells you you’re scanning the wrong thing. But your brain tells you you’re not so you keep scanning. It’s a nightmare!!!!!
Examples of this are in the bacon section where there are seven million different varieties of bacon which all look and sound exactly the same, and the household department where different sized identical products all stand side by identical side.
And seriously, why are three so many different kinds of milk???? Skimmed, semi skimmed, whole, filtered, organic, filtered organic, pints, litres............ Uuggghhhh!!!!!
The last trolley was done by noon and after buying a stuffed turkey crown for the freezer I set off walking into town for Mr K to pick me up. He was on a call so I walked further than I intended. But it was nice to be out in some fresh air after six hours hard labour!!!
The rest of the day was spent wrapping eBay parcels, collecting Miss L, posting eBay parcels and getting an early night.
Every night’s a work night!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.