The Day After Boxing Day

Since we went into lockdown I’ve pretty much given up ironing apart from those things really shout out to be ironed.  However, over the past wee while, with things not being dried on the line the numbers of things shouting out to be ironed has increased to a significant pile.  This morning I made real inroads into that pile, but haven’t quite shifted it.  Maybe I’ll finish it another day.
TT headed off to church again in his role as COVID monitor.  I spent some time redoing the bits of jigsaw I did last night.  When I saw the sky, that I had struggled with last night, in daylight I realised that the shades of blue weren’t quite right.  Even in daylight it took me some time to get it all sorted out.  While I made progress, it doesn’t look like I have made much progress.
It was a lovely day, so TT took me out for a long walk – a route we walked often in lockdown, along the Garleton Ridge and down to the river and back home, but which is now rather muddy in places.  At least we had panoramic views when we were at the highest point of the route.  As we got near home, we noticed that a house which has had its Christmas decorations up since immediately after Halloween is now bare.  Christmas is done, so the decorations are down.  We were both starving when we got home.  We were met by a starving boy, who in a house of food had only managed to find a packet of crisps!
I then retreated to the jigsaw, while TT made a Sunday roast for himself and BB.  I made so with some leftovers from a few days ago!  Later I watched Black Narcissus.
We walked past the ruins of Barnes Castle today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.