Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

We're ready!

(29/12/20)

Monday
We were up and ready by 8 am for the workmen to arrive. I have to admit I am nervous and not happy about what's happening. The workmen have picked up on this and are doing their best to reassure me they know what they are doing and they will do a good job.

Nara came and helped put polythene over the units in the hallway and G helped me cover over my vanity unit. I took a few pictures for the record. I have to say, I'm amazed how fast these guys are working. They removed what they needed (WC/washbasin) and used a machine to cut the tiles very precisely. They then inserted new PPR pipes. I'd never heard of these, so we looked them up. It's an excellent new material as it is light, hardy, easy to cut, and best of all, it lasts up to 50 years! It's also green in colour! There you go! A big downside would have to be the method of making joints - using heat to contract the pipe to the joint. It didn't smell good.

Thankfully, we got an hour for lunch while they went and had theirs and they then worked up to 5:30. In between, G & I worked in our respective offices and took the opportunity to catch up on things that we tend to put aside because going out is so much more fun, especially during school holidays!

We headed out for a drive in the evening; just to get out of the flat. G wanted to drive to Mamzar Park so we headed North East. I have to say - Dubai is completely back to normal traffic-wise. It took over 15 minutes to get through the Shindagha Tunnel. It's the bad old days all over again! On the way there, I spotted a corniche development that I'm sure I'd not seen before, so we checked it out. After years of taking away prime beach and making it exclusive to hotels and their guests, Dubai finally has a large public beach and walkway with free parking for its residents to enjoy! Too bad it is in a part of town that's not so easily accessible. There were a few families there enjoying the evening.

We came home via the new Deira Island. They have a night souk which I'd seen ads for. I couldn't imagine opening something on that scale in these times, so we wanted to take a closer look. The night souk itself was closed but it was hard to miss a huge building all lit up in the distance, so we drove towards it. It turns out to be a Rui Resort. My extra is the Christmas tree in the lobby. Honestly, I can't believe the holidaymakers racing around the lobby all speaking English! I feel so sorry for them. They are in the middle of nowhere and the only way to get to anything is by a courtesy shuttle bus or taxi.

I had to get early to bed as they guys really want to start at 7 am tomorrow so they can finish the work. Looking at what they've done so far, I don't doubt them! I have to confess, G & I tidied up for them so when they come tomorrow, they have that much less to tackle. I don't know why they would want to return tomorrow, clean at the start of the day, and spend the first thirty minutes cleaning their workspace. Not my way of working, for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.