Snae!

Apparently it's been a few years since we had as much snow in Edinburgh as we had overnight. Of course, there's very little in Leith (although quite enough to make the pavements slippery when combined with low temperatures), but blips and social media posts from elsewhere in the city indicated that there was quite a lot more on higher ground. Of course, my reference point for snow in Leith is December 2010, when this was the pile of accumulated snow (from clearing operations) in the car park opposite. I think we have a long way to go before we get to that level.

Anyway, I pointed the camera out of the bedroom window in a roughly northwesterly direction (to get one of the views that has been opened up by the demolition). Much later on in the day I appreciated the fact that since the demolition (and since I put my desk under the window a few years ago), I now enjoy winter sunsets in front of me without even having to stand up. Later on in the year, I have to pull down the blind when the sun comes round in the afternoon, as it shines too brightly into my eyes. That's the thing about working at home - you really do get to appreciate the changes.

I popped out mid morning for a fairly lengthy tramp around the streets of Leith in order to get my steps in. I picked up a few things in the supermarket, and was surprised to find that everything seemed to be in good supply. Perhaps I wasn't trying hard enough to find exotic products... For sure, the prices are gradually going up.... I also collected some burek from Kukina for a sneaky treat lunch.

And since these holidays are traditionally the time for personal digital projects (and I see that Ridgeback is organising her photos...), I've joined in the party by figuring out a new notetaking app that syncs across different devices that has better encryption than Evernote (for which I pay a pretty sum for a paid subscription). I think we are all feeling more security conscious these days. I certainly am, after a horrible incident in the summer when I was badly scammed, but luckily got all my money back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.