Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Chilling out

(31/12/20)

G woke early to join Pauline for a walk. I got up and showered to be ready for the workmen to come to finish off a few last bits. The mains valve is leaking and so is G's shower mixer. We waited, and waited. I finally said to G she ought to get herself ready for the day too. I'm glad I did because the guys never came!

I had to see Nara to tell him what needed doing on this, his last clean for 2020! He happened to be in the next door flat which our neighbours have vacated. Well. We got a grand tour of the place! It overlooks the main road and I admit to getting excited when I looked out the French window and saw the flat I grew up in!

We'd arranged to meet Diane for a walk. I chose Sunrise Beach. The weather was lovely despite the time of day. I don't often do it, but I walked bare feet the whole time and loved the feeling of soft sand! We finished with a cup of coffee in Costa before dropping Diane home.

Back to the flat and Nara must have just left as my bathroom was still wet. He certainly got the fine tile dust cleared but using methods that don't work if you have wooden units. I could see drops on the ceiling. I'll have to have a word with him!

We had lunch and then I spent a couple of hours putting things back to where I would go looking for them! It was interesting to see the debates in Parliament about the new agreement. Glad that chapter is now coming to and end and the country can move forward. It's great too that the Oxford vaccine has been approved. I like the fact it can be stored in an ordinary refrigerator and costs less than $5. It gives poorer countries a real chance.

We got invited to a 6 pm dinner by Petra. We know Petra from church and work with her at Awana. Her daughter is in the age group that we take. We had a lovely evening and I had the joy of seeing what my videos look like on a 4K large screen! What a treat! We chatted lots too. So much so, that it was past midnight when we left! Home by 1 am - tired! G put on the TV though to see if the MPs passed the bill. THEY DID!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.