The rich colours of a Chaffinch's feathers

The light and the hard frost were irresistible to me this morning. I could sense the ever rising sun would start to melt the frost quite quickly so after my usual strong coffee I went to sit in the doorway of the cabin to watch the birds.

Before I went out there I'd observed a range of birds but still fewer than I'd normally see. But it seemed thatmy presence was still keeping some of them away. I did see nuthatches, blackcaps, bluetits, long-tailed tits, robins and a couple of bullfinches but nmot in the same numbers ort for as long as normal.

This chaffinch was finding it hard to alight on the feeder with sunflowers and hung around in the trees and on the fence. I'd hoped that they might go onto the table so I could include the frost but it didn't happen until this moment.

At the time I didn't notice the variety of beautiful colours in its feathers. Maybe it was the reflected light off the frost. So I chose this image despite having a number of other more obvious choices. Bu this is my journal and the colours are what I want to record, even though I know the Blip image may not be as vivid and saturated as I see in my Lightroom image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.