reflections

My cool tree and its reflections. Did I tell you how I got this tree? One year I saw this awesome, minimalist tree at Starbucks. I looked at it every time I passed on my way to work. The day after Christmas that year I went to work early, hopped into the store, and asked to speak to the manager - which is always frightening because no one ever wants to talk to the manager when they are happy. I told the manager they don't need the tree anymore and I wanted to buy it. $2.50 I got the tree and the cute red skirt underneath it. It takes 90 seconds to put it up (I've timed it). A couple of years ago I replaced the lights with this cool string of LEDs that can stay on the tree even when I take it down. Now I don't even always want ornaments. 

It rained all day long so I was pleased when I saw the reflected lights in the window and thought to take a picture of it. 

There is another cool thing that 2020 brought us - or at least that I learned about in 2020 - Your Korean Dad. Do an internet search. He is the sweetest, dearest, loveliest man and I'd love to have him as my dad. Think Mr. Rogers but sillier and feeding you. 

One of my neighbors and I brought the new year in together/apart using Zoom and drinking bubbly cider. We brought in the Puerto Rican new year and she told me about her grandmother's custom of throwing out a pot of water to toss out the bad of whatever the previous year had. An hour later during Eastern Standard Time New Year I tossed a pot of water outside and it was cathartic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.