An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Snow Queen...

I have been without phone or laptop today as D was backing up all my "stuff" on each and transferring "stuff" to my new phone.  Wow it's amazing what one can do when not enslaved by technology!

I spent a very pleasant afternoon doing something I haven't done before...making bread.  The old fashioned way :-) I don't know why I haven't made bread before.  Kneading is so therapeutic!  

I think I mentioned last week that our friend T (who lives round the corner) got an ice cream maker for Christmas and handed in a tub of his first batch of vanilla ice cream.  I wanted to make something special to have with it and decided on Gordon Ramsay's apple and cranberry crumble.  

While the bread dough was proving I made the apple and cranberry part of the crumble, crocheted some more of my blanket, then popped the bread into the oven before going into the garden to get some pics of Lola.  She had been rolling in what's left of the snow, but sat beautifully to let me get a decent pic of her.  I ventured no further than that patio.  There was no way I was setting foot on the icy snow.  That would be a disaster!

Came back inside to the wonderful scent of apples, cinnamon and baking bread.  Lovely :-))

Twenty-five minutes after going in the oven, out the bread came and much to my relief it looked done.

With homemade tomato and orange soup to have with the bread and the apple crumble and ice cream for dessert, we skipped our main course and had a soup and pudding dinner (bread and crumble in extras :-)  

New phone and laptop had completed the data transfer by the time we'd eaten and I've spent the last few hours alternating between playing with my phone and dozing off!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.