Red shoes

Were it not for the red feet, I would have gone black and white with this mosaic, which I spotted last week after visiting Warriston Cemetery. I must have walked past it 100 times over the years, and never spotted it until last week. Turning it black and white would have concealed the slimy green lichen, mould or moss on the stone wall, but lost the quirkiness of the red shoes. Red overcame green on this occasion.

The day didn't pan out quite as expected, as AC, with whom I was planning to meet up, didn't feel up to much today after the pretty rough time she and her friend had yesterday. So instead Mr A and I went to the supermarket earlier than expected, and while it was raining when we went inside, it was dry when we came out, so I walked back so I could get my blip (and a few steps). I spent the afternoon watching some pretty variable weather outside our windows and finishing off some photo editing. The new normal, my latest album on flickr, is now finished. I've started a new album for the new year, although it hasn't got many photographs in it yet apart from more from yesterday's lovely walk.

I've also finished my latest day time reading book, which has been a very interesting read, although relatively hard going. I like to know about the intellectual foundations to ideas which are current, and this linked nicely up to some other things I've been thinking about recently. I'm now a bit worried about my nighttime reading book, which is the latest book group book - Mexican Gothic, as Laura Muir commented on certain chapters being gruesome. I'm not good with gruesome, especially at night, as it disturbs my sleep and gets into my subconscious. I might have to move that book to be a day time book, and hope that I get through it by a week on Monday for book group, and read something else at night - perhaps the next Sarah Gainham book after recently finishing Night Falls on the City. My problem is that my day time books are normally paper books, and my nighttime books are on the kindle. So having to read Mexican Gothic during the day is going to upset my system as I only have it on kindle. Another case of first world problems!

Anyway, back to work tomorrow. I know it's a bank holiday in Scotland, but I have plenty to do, and I'm feeling reasonably energised again after pretty much two weeks off (bar a bit of working last week). I've set the alarm for the normal weekday time.

PS I found an article about the mosaic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.