Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Winter bubbles

We had a sprinkling of snow overnight and it was very cold. I wondered if I might try to produce ice bubbles. I have tried in the past with no success.

You really need to be outside when the temperature is below freezing. By the time I made it into the garden, the temperature was still very cold, but rising.

My bubbles did not freeze, but I enjoyed the reflections in the large one here and the iridescent colours in them all.

I did a short walk to Chollerford and back. It was good to meet up with Clare and Ann. Clare had a successful cataract operation earlier this week and was so delighted with the result. "I can see where we live now", she said as she indicated the hills beyond the village.

Mum and I caught up on the Monday quizzes. Well done to Birkbeck College who are fielding a very strong team for this series.

Tonight we listened to an interview from the Royal Society of Medicine with Sir Robert Francis QC. He has been involved in medical litigation and has headed various independent inquiries, e.g. Stafford Hospital.

I found it all so depressing. Issues, like whistle blowing, that were live when I qualified in 1975 are still very problematic. He talked about cultures where doctors will not speak to each other and patients suffer. So many things that I hoped would have changed by now.

After this, Julie and I were chatting on Facetime. She had seen the news from the USA with the storming of the Capitol Building. This will need to be handled very carefully to prevent further attacks. President Trump appears to have fanned the flames very carefully today. It is hard to see how to avoid civil unrest.

And in England, more than 1,000 people died from Coronavirus. It puts my struggles with a few bubbles in perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.