Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Iris and gypsy filly

Our friend Maureen (from Scotland) called the other day and brought a bunch of irises and gypsophila. Irises don't always open out successfully, but these have been open and magnificent for a few days now. They drink a lot of water too.

When I was a child, gyp was often in floral displays. I just knew it as "gyp" and I was much older when I found out its full name!**

It's been a dark and very grey day. The temperature rose enough for light rain, but the sun was almost completely absent. It is now setting beautifully.

I just felt like a pyjama day today. I have no idea how many years it is since I had one. It was not entirely comfortable when people called and after lunch I was glad to shower and dress. 

However, I managed to watch to the end of The Twelve, one of the Walter Presents series. It was unexpectedly gripping and I was still left unsure about the murders at the end. There was so much more I wanted to know!!

I've been able to knit and watch, despite subtitles, so that's good too. 

**my memory is faulty. Mum reminded me that her mother called it gypsy filly and that is what I knew it as for years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.