Winter tree

There was snow overnight. Not much at all but enough to cover the pavements. I set out for a walk over the fields which was really lovely except in the places where snow had covered patches of ice. That wasn't so much fun. I liked this bare winter tree, stark in the field. The background is the Abbey Craig where I was walking yesterday. This part of the Craig is a sheer cliff face. I've added my first extra of the year as I liked the stripes of colour in the sky above snowy Stuc a' Chroin.  If you can go large on the extra it is worth it I think. It's not a bright day of blue skies and sun sparkling off the snow. But I quite like the muffled cloud. I think it's to be cold again tonight so the snow might stick around. Today feels mild. There is no wind at all which is a big plus.

What news from Washington. Inevitable I feel. Four (and more) years of inciting violence, sowing dissent and division and here we are. When I was a student I took a course in US politics. I remember the constitution being so proudly upheld, the checks and balances in place. With confirmation of the elections in Georgia perhaps the US can start to heal itself. If it does we should watch and learn.

Exit: At mambo's suggestion I'm tagging this for the abstract challenge. Thank you to Ingeborg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.