Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Glamorous days

On 4 January I posted a blip about my mother and her two closest friends who were identical twins. That was their birthday. Mum was four days younger so today Mum would have turned 108.

Mum was born in 1913. In the late 1920s to the mid 1930s Mum was a teenager and in her early 20s. She loved the movies and collected photos of movie stars. She made her own folders from brown paper and organised her treasures into them (see first extra). Her brother-in-law worked as an usher in one of the cinemas on George St, Sydney. He used to give her movie stills after they had been taken down from the front of the cinema once a movie was no longer being screened (see second extra). They formed part of her collection too.

When I was a small child I would spend hours and hours going through her folders. Even then I was fascinated by photos. I learned most of the stars' names and could recognise their faces before my family ever owned a television set, which wasn't until 1960. I now have Mum's entire collection and I still enjoy looking at all the photos.

When I was a teenager I started my own collection but it pales into insignificance compared to Mum's. My third extra shows one of my heartthrobs. Can you name him?

Over the next few days I'll add, as extras, some more examples from Mum's collection to see if any Blippers can name the old movie stars. For today, do you recognise the three actors in my second extra? Answers tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.