Sustead church across the way

When I take this walk (or run as in todays case) I feel like I'm in a period drama- Middlemarch, or Far from the Madding Crowd, something like that. I imagine in times gone by, when this church had a thriving congregation, family groups would stroll to church on a Sunday morning in long skirts, hats and all their sunday best. Today, I was in shorts, tracksuit top and trainers. Not nearly as romantic. I passed one lady out on a walk as I did my Week 5 Day 1 run listening to radio 4. It was black ice on the road, so I think it is getting colder. Not easy to run on ice.

Home by 10.15 for breakfast, then Jon and I went to Homebase. We did hesitate over whether it was essential or not, but the shop is open. The shop had barely 3 or 4 custimers. We bought some bolts and wingnuts to make the flower press, and 3 'really useful boxes' to aid our sorting. They will go in the loft after I have used them in the house to help us move things about. Henry filled 2 of them with the sideboard contents. Now it is empty I want to advertise it, so that will be done in the week. I will try that first, then if no takers it will go to charity when they open again. Then I went to the co-op and bought a kettle which we have been desperate for. Decided on a cheap £20 one as Mollie has a hefty car bill this week, as it failed its mot, so we need to help her with that.

In the afternoon Mollie and I had a go at the pond. It is full of leaves and old plums. We did remove a bucketful but disturbed a couple of toads in the process. I trimmed back dead fronds from the umbrella plant and it does now look a lot tidier. I will have another go at the pond next weekend. It was still cold and I needed to warm up.

Did a little bit of sewing but in very reduced light. So hopefully I can get back on track with some of that next week.

Just enjoyed the first episode of the new series of the pottery throw down. At last something good for a Sunday evening.

Now a bit of reading before an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.