MONO MONDAY - WITH JUST A TOUCH OF COLOUR!

It was a cold, dank and drizzly morning and once again, I was tempted not to take part in the Mono Monday challenge, because we don’t have too many bridges around here, but then I remembered a footbridge, over the busy road that runs at the rear of our property, but it would mean walking to get to it.

You know I enjoy a challenge, so I kitted myself out in several under-layers, including my wonderful thermals, with a pair of thick jeans over the top, walking boots, my fur-lined anorak, hat and gloves and off I went.  The drizzle was horrible, but I kept going, knowing or at least, hoping that I would get a half-decent shot of the bridge.

Having said yesterday that the lockdown hadn’t had much effect on traffic, it was the same this morning, with cars, lorries and motorbikes thundering past - the funniest thing was that a lot of the drivers looked at me, because I made no secret of the fact that I was taking photographs and they probably thought I was an undercover traffic cop!  At one point, I just lounged up against a lamp post and was quite amused by the looks I was given!  Reminded me of a very old George Formby song  - and I daresay you can guess which one!  

I took lots of photographs from both sides of the road and it’s interesting that when these housing estates were built in the 1970s, they had lots of walkways through between the houses and didn’t encourage people to walk near the main road - so there is still no pavement alongside the road, as you will see. 

On the way home, when I had had enough of the drizzle, as I walked, I saw some little harbingers of Spring - some tiny crocuses - or crocii - however you want to say it, and snapped one of them, being very careful where I was treading - and of course, it matches the colour of the DHL lorry very well.  I have taken out the numberplate of the lorry - don’t want to get into trouble for my cloak-and-dagger activities this morning!

Some interesting news that pleased me late last night - the couple we met on our walk had obviously looked at my Blip and have now joined!  Isn’t that great?  This is the link to their first Blip - so please go and welcome them to this wonderful site.  It just goes to show that a little word at the right time often has a beneficial effect.  I hope they will enjoy this wonderful community as much as we do.

In these difficult times, when many people are so fearful, this seemed an appropriate quote:

“Fear builds walls 
     instead of bridges. 
I want a life of bridges, 
     not walls.” 
Lisa Wingate :  The Prayer Box

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.