A New Walk

It was another grey, dark, cold day but I’m determined to go out for a walk every day. In fact, I find it easier to stay motivated in the winter when I don’t spend much time in my own garden.

I’m exploring new places to walk closer to home. This beautiful ‘naked tree’ (its becoming a theme this week!) is in a green space in a residential area not far from my home, but I never knew it was there. Finding green space, especially where it’s not too muddy is crucial for me, and I’m sure for so many others. While walking solely along residential streets may be good for exercise as it does keep the limbs moving - it doesn’t do much for one’s mental health, at least not for me. Also - I ‘bumped into’ several people I knew during my walk. While we all kept the required distance from each other, and I did enjoy seeing them, it hardly fits into the idea of keeping away from people!

The Tour de Ski started again today after a travel/rest day. They are now at their final location - Val di Fiemme in Italy. Another cosy couple of hours in front of the fire this afternoon, with coffee and panettone - well, I had to! We were in Italy, after all!

After my walk I took the decorations off my tree but I’ve decided to leave it up for awhile with just the lights. It’s a comforting light in a dark corner of my lounge and I think we’re allowed to do crazy things like that now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.