Campaigning residents attend the committee

I've felt a bit disoriented today, probably a result of the approaching full moon. Poor H. has been at home, as she had to take a day off work because of tonsilitis. I noticed much jigsaw fixing and radio listening, as well as reading with Bomble in close proximity and hopefully successful online research for a new ipod.

I went to be interviewed this afternoon for a local history project, organised by the Preservation Trust and carried out by D., a new member, who is also an old friend of ours. I like being local, getting to know people who you may meet in so many varied situations. D. let me take a few pictures of her, but I wasn't well organised and I'm not very happy with the results. I want to start taking more pictures of people, possibly including myself, having been impressed yet again by the wonderful journals of Sarah Horrigan, who has now blipped for three years today! Yay for her and thanks too as she has given me great advice and friendship since I first joined!

I left their house and as I was in the beginning of the Slad valley I decided to wander up it in the car ending up at the end of a track looking down across the farm and woodlands with wood smoke drifting up from small cottages dotted about the steep hillsides. Then I went on to Bisley and dropped off the car for a service, and got a lift back home from Terry, the garage's driver, who I only meet on these annual occasions.

I'd forgotten there was an important meeting of the the town council's Consultations committee where the highly contentious planning application for Baxter's Fields in the Slad valley was going to be discussed. I had to walk to the meeting and arrived after it had started. I am not on this committee but any councillor is allowed to attend any committees as an observer, we just can't vote.

Tonight the meeting was moved to the Conservative Club of all places as they had a room large enough to accommodate all the local residents campaigning against this housing development. Everyone is worried about the possible destruction of this important green field site which is still pretty much untouched and just like Laurie Lee described it in Cider with Rosie. The town council has unanimously decided to totally oppose this development and will be exerting all endeavours to stop it. We agree that housing is essential but not at all costs.

It was quite interesting that BBC2 is running a series called The Planners looking at different planning issues and how they impact on people and places around the country. Two weeks ago they featured Stroud and the potential destruction of ancient field in the middle of a local small town just outside Stroud. The key officers of the larger District Council's planning department who were shown in the programme were attending this meeting tonight. John Marjoram is one of the District Councillors on their planning committee as well as being a town councillor and the Deputy Mayor. I have photographed him many times. Here he was in the audience answering questions and getting involved as he has done all his distinguished life.

It is not a great picture but it is what is happening here which is what I want my blips to present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.