Alastair's house by Daisybank

The weather today has been gorgeous and after some pottering, or procrastination as some might describe it, I started some long overdue clearing outside. I started in the cabin and cleared tools, tidied plants, swept up the many deceased insects and made it habitable again.

I moved outside mid-afternoon and started trimming the various clematis, honeysuckle and our grape vine, before sweeping the steps down to the garden proper. Then the rugby international sounded exciting so I went inside and drank tea and watched England play well and lose.

Byt the end of the game the sun was setting, so I went into the front garden to see if the western skyline was blippable. I couldn't get a shot so walked up the path next to the house past the Spider Lane allotment and on to Daisybank, which is only a hundred yards away. It is a very old piece of land which has been kept as a small playground for children on a steep slope studded with large trees. The crescent moon was stark in the darkening blue sky with a planet, which I presume is Venus, very close by, probably in a wide conjunction.

I took shots of red clouds over Doverow, silhouettes of chimneys and shots of the many aircraft contrails as they headed out west for the USA. I started for home then saw this rather interesting old house, which was recently completely rebuilt in a very modern style for its disabled and well-known owner. It wasn't too far from what I was trying to achieve, which is why I have selected it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.