Skiing in the Sun

We lured Rose out to our village by promising her a ski trip with no hills. This is achieved by staying on the frozen lake. It was a perfect day for skiing - beautifully sunny with virtually no wind, minus 8°C, and a hard layer of snow or ice with about 3cm new snow on top - perfect for creating our own tracks.  Rose's car is a little small for my longer skis so Jan and her drove down to the lake, while I skied from the house and met them on the ice. On the way down the hill to the lake I had my first fall of the season, always good to put behind you!  I also saw something that made me very happy, but more of that later.  
We skied about 3 km over the ice, turning for home as the sun started to sink behind a hill. It got distinctly colder once the sun dropped and we were sking in shadow.  However, I soon warmed up again as I left the others and headed up the hill for home. By the time I got home I was really sweaty - I must remember to dress more lightly when out skiing.
In the morning, before skiing, I baked some rye and spelt crisp bread that I had prepared the day before. The original recipe called for a tiny amount of yeast but, after experimenting once, I'd calculated a recipe using a sourdough starter and this is what I baked today. It was a great success, though I say it myself. I saved the recipe online for a sourdough friend! 
I mentioned earlier I'd seen something that made me very happy. As I skied away from our house I came across some impressive animal tracks in the snow. When I got home I checked on internet and they were, as I'd thought, lynx tracks.  So the lynx we saw last spring is still around. I'd be amazed if we saw it again (I've seen lynx only twice in 35 years) but I'm so happy to know it is out there somewhere, living in the forest near us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.