Minus 20°C

This is the real winter, and we want at least a few days of it every year. Yes, it's a challenge and requires some thinking to be outside, but it is so beautiful and spectacular. So we whooped for joy when we saw the thermometer this morning.
We decided to walk rather than ski because it’s slightly simpler and we wanted to get out. Even so it takes a while to dress for the outdoors with 5 layers on my top half and three layers on my legs.
Minus 20°C  is domestic freezer temperature and like a freezer the world frosts up. It's interesting that both Jan's blip and mine show pictures of crystals and light, rather than landscape views.
I have included a landscape here. It's the stream i usually call the beaver stream, at the bottom of the valley we look over every time we walk out of the village. It was taken at the end of the walk, on the way home and the sun had set a while back. The world looked very frozen, though by that stage of the walk I was actually pretty warm and my pockets were filled with extra gloves and scarves that I'd removed as I walked.
The world looked very lovely today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.