Polo Players

Well here's something I didnt know existed. Exploring the side roads around City airport today my pal pointed out a compound filled with bronze horses to a giant scale. I squeezed through a gate and managed to get up close. There in the lee of Royal Victoria dock were these polo themed horses cast by a Chinese sculptor, Huang Jian, for the 2012 olympics. 

Apparently back in 2013 they were placed on the other side of the dock waiting to be returned to the olympic park but time seems to have forgotten them. The weathering is enhancing them and they are very splendid. Why are they still lying unloved in a yard? Are they potential targets for the topplers?See extra for the setting.

I wonder when I will stop finding surprises on my east London wanders?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.