Nimbyism

I used to live in a house over the garden wall from the hospital that was previously on this site. The hospital closed over twenty years ago and a planning application was submitted to redevelop the site with detached houses and mews cottages. 

My neighbours were up in arms, objecting to loss of privacy etc. I said "Noooo!" - It could be much worse with flats at the end of our gardens. The neighbours thought I was a traitor and the scheme was permitted and duly built. And now it has matured into a very pleasant estate with the oak trees from the previous use dotted around and new hedges around the gardens. Fortunately the Not In My Back Yard brigade didnt get their way.

It makes for a super walk when the golf course and forest is so wet. Especially on a sunny Sunday morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.