Another Christmas Cactus

I've had this Christmas Cactus - Schlumbergera truncata - or at least I believe that's the species for at least 10 years - it's quite large now - probably 3' in diameter and spends the summer outdoors in its cramped clay pot. I water it with the hose when it's outside and then bring it indoors in late October (we're quite temperate here). It starts to bloom almost immediately and oddly continues to have a second, third and sometime more sets of blooms before resting for the summer. And once in a while it will produce a few blossoms in the summer as well. It cheers me up immensely in the winter to see this plant which dominates my sun room/dining room. I may have to repot it one of these days, but then it will just get larger!

Another quiet day, but on Wednesday morning I can start walking with my foot on the ground! But I had a pleasant time with a lot of calls about the botanical garden and doing a jigsaw puzzle simultaneously while looking out the big picture window onto the back garden. 

By the way, if anyone is interested in learning more about the botanical garden I'm working on, a garden designer friend of mine is hosting a noontime chat with us tomorrow. If you can't make the time (but are interested) you can sign up and she'll send you a link to the recording. It's totally free and open to the public (all over the world!) 
https://www.egardengo.com/post/learn-about-the-portland-botanical-gardens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.